Wednesday, September 23, 2009

Faith-based & relief groups settle on spiritual care of disaster survivors

Disaster survivors to receive one standard of care
Faith-based & relief groups settle on principles

September 15, 2009 -- More than 20 faith-based organizations in the United
States for the first time have set minimum standards of care in a 10-point
document that defines how to minister emotionally and spiritually to people
in times of disaster.

"It is a true realization of their faith when Catholics, Scientologists,
Protestants, Evangelicals, Buddhists and Jews can sit down together and
define the standards of spiritual care for the benefit of disaster
survivors," said Diana Rothe-Smith, executive director of National Voluntary
Organizations Active in Disaster. Forty-nine U.S. organizations make up

"Rather than put aside their differing beliefs, they have mutually embraced
them, and this extraordinary document is the result," said Rothe-Smith.

Explicitly outlined in the set of standards are protections for survivors,
at what is often a vulnerable time. Without adequate care for those who seek
it, spiritual, emotional and psychological challenges can last well beyond
when homes or businesses are repaired.

The 10 points to the Spiritual Care Points of Consensus are:
- Basic concepts of disaster spiritual care
- Types of disaster spiritual care
- Local community resources
- Disaster emotional care and its relationship to disaster spiritual
- Disaster spiritual care in response and recovery
- Disaster emotional and spiritual care for the care giver
- Planning, preparedness, training and mitigation as spiritual care
- Disaster spiritual care in diversity
- Disaster, trauma and vulnerability
- Ethics and Standards of Care

"As significant as the adoption of these points of consensus is the
cooperation conversation that took place among these partners to form them,"
said the Rev. Kevin Massey, a current National VOAD board member. "We did
not start with consensus; rather, it was created through respectful

Working collaboratively, the members of National VOAD are the driving force
behind disaster recovery in the United States. National VOAD facilitates
cooperation among every major non-profit and faith-based disaster response
organization in the U.S. National VOAD agencies focus on all stages of
disaster -- preparedness, relief, response, recovery and mitigation. In
2008, these organizations provided more than $200 million dollars in direct
financial assistance and more than 7 million hours in volunteer labor.

For more information, contact Diana Rothe-Smith at 1-703-778-5088.

The Points of Consensus in its entirety can read here:

To learn more about National VOAD and the work of its member organizations,
or to review the Points of Consensus in its entirety, visit

  • Buy "Neighbors, Strangers and Everyone Else" a book by Rev John Brian Paprock
  • Thursday, September 17, 2009

    Wisconsin Governor Proclaims Interfaith Awareness Week

    A Proclamation

    WHEREAS, Wisconsin has a long history of celebrating the diversity of belief;

    and WHEREAS, Wisconsin has been a leader in human rights throughout 162 years of statehood;

    and WHEREAS, December 10, 2009 is Human Rights Day designated by the United Nations and the 61st anniversary of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, which states in Article 18 that "Everyone has the right to freedom of thought, conscience and religion; this right includes freedom to change his religion or belief, and freedom, either alone or in community with others and in public or private, to manifest his religion or belief in teaching, practice, worship and observance;"

    and WHEREAS, the State has developed great spiritual and religious diversity and diverse beliefs have played an important role in the development of our State; and

    WHEREAS, the celebration of diversity diminishes no one, but enriches everyone;

    and WHEREAS, we affirm the right of every person to believe and act according to their beliefs as long as it does not infringe upon the rights of others;

    and WHEREAS, interfaith and multifaith efforts of different churches and faith groups have a rich history in the State;

    and WHEREAS, interfaith and multifaith coalitions, dialogues and activities continue to grow in importance locally, regionally, nationally and internationally;

    and WHEREAS, the Capitol of the State of Wisconsin is located on an isthmus, which is considered a place of peace and reconciliation;

    and WHEREAS, December 2009 holds holy days of many religious and faith groups;

    NOW, THEREFORE, I, James Doyle, Governor, do hereby proclaim December 6-12, 2009 as
    in the State of Wisconsin and encourage citizens to learn more about each others' beliefs in the spirit of community.
    [signature on September 9, 2009]

    = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

    This year there will be open houses and events throughout the Madison area. In the Wisconsin Capitol Building rotunda there will be displays of the world religions all week and a special noon program on Human Rights Day, Thursday, December 10th.
    (above photo is the display of last year's proclamation with other municipality proclamations)

  • Buy "Neighbors, Strangers and Everyone Else" a book by Rev John Brian Paprock